Gaming Memories – Mortal Kombat Trilogy

Mortal Kombat Trilogy is a game first released in 1996 by Midway, the 5th in the series overall. It’s a fighting game and was a major commercial success and it received good critiques. I actually first played it on my Nintendo64 (N64) in 2002, 6 years after its original release but this isn’t my review on it. I loved this game as a kid so you know I’d recommend it right away on my nostalgia alone, that’s not what this article is about. The thing is, I hold many great memories of Mortal Kombat and the good times I had with friends playing it that I wanted the world to know. That’s why we came up with this new category in our blog in the first place, because Leo and I would love to share our good gaming memories with you.

Mortal Kombat Trilogy was my first introduction into the MK universe, I first played it when I was in middle school back in 2002. A friend let me borrow it and i was already familiar with the movies but never played a MK game… heck i didn’t even knew they existed. From the moment I played it on my N64 I was hooked. I loved the graphics, the art style, the gameplay was smooth and combos were easy to learn. It also had such a big roster of diverse characters to chose from.

Mortal Kombat Trilogy wasn’t my first fighting game, but it sure made an impact on me and since that moment I became a fan.
I would gather with my friends, neighbors and even members of my family to play it. Since in the country I was born (specially in my little town)  many people didn’t have the chance to buy or the resources to own their own video game console in that time,  my house would be packed with people and we’d play for hours making tournaments of our own.

96792

I wasn’t the best player but I sure had a lot of fun, my favorite fighters were Jade, Cyrax, Nightwolf, Sindel, and Stryker. Jade being my number one pick I did really know her moves and playing as her I would kick some ass, even if I didn’t win I’d make sure I’d leave a mark on my opponent.

Another thing I loved about that game was the soundtrack, man I would just get pumped and ready to fight by just listening to each of the stages and the main menu tracks.

By the time we didn’t know English and the things and moves we learned was by figuring them out ourselves but once a friend of mine got a hold of the official moves list. Shit got real really quick. I remember feeling the tension rising because in our little tournaments we’d bet things like we’d do each other’s homework, carry out their book-bags at school, among other embarrassing things. So I tried to learn the new moves and specially the fatalities as fast as i could because they were just so damn cool.

maxresdefault3

Overall the game was really fun and I enjoyed it to the very last day I got to play it which, by the way, I loved it so much I managed to convince my friend to trade it for one of my games and so we did. I hope you’ll give the article a like and let us know some cool stories of your own in the comments!

Leave a Reply

