Top 10 best PS3 non-exclusives

A couple weeks ago I posted which I considered to be the best PS3 exclusives ever and, though I consider Uncharted 2 the best video game in the system, there’s a ton of great games that any PS3 gamers should play and couldn’t appear there for being multiplatform.
Never fear because we got you covered with this list. The best PS3 games that weren’t exclusives. Like all of the lists that I do, only one game per franchise may appear and all of the choosings are merely based on my personal taste and nothing else.
Let’s start with the fun.

10. Fallout 3 – This is an amazing RPG with plenty of player choice, an immersive world full of details… problem is, we’re talking about PS3 games and the port of this game for the console was far from stellar. That’s why it couldn’t reach higher than the 10th spot.

fallout3
9. Tomb Raider – The reboot that brough back Lara Croft after that long holiday after TR:Underworld took the world by storm. Maybe the formula was altered a little too much as there wasn’t much tomb raiding but still, this new game was a great 3rd person shooter with superb controls, graphics and a good dose of platforming.

tombraider
8. Dead Space 2 – The first entrance of this series may as well have appeared in this list because what Dead Space started was a really brilliant experience. That being said, I prefer the sequel for being better polished and having a more varied campaign. In any case, these third person horror shooters were really atmospheric, the combat was intense but also very satisfying and overall, they were a joy to look and to listen.

deadspace2
7. Mass Effect 2 – I have to admit that I wasn’t completely sold on the first Mass Effect game but, all the problems that kept the original away from being considered an amazing game were (more or less) resolved in its sequel. I have to admit that the third actually featured the best combat in the series but, as an overall game, I have to pick Mass Effect 2 over it.

masseffect2
6. Far Cry 3 – I’m one of the weird guys that actually likes all of the Far Cry games out there, even Far Cry 2 with its more “realistic” approach. But the liberty that FC3 offered with that paradisiacal environment to explore and exploit and how fun they made taking over the different outposts… I have to say though that to me, Far Cry 4 is as good as the third or even better but, if you’re gonna play that game, you better do it on PS4.

farcry3
5. Deus Ex: Human Revolution – This games mixes so many elements that I love that I can’t help but to love it. The cyberpunk setting, the freedom of choice, the stealth gameplay… and as a game, you have to admit that’s also very well realised. Some naysayers may point to the bossfights and claim that they shouldn’t have been there but they weren’t that bad really.

deusexhr
4. Grand Theft Auto 5 – We’re getting to a point in this list where I don’t even have to explain why the games appear in this list. GTA5 was highly praised by critics and public alike and there was a reason to it. Rockstar managed to make a game that’s huge and diverse and even then it feels polished.

gta5
3. Bioshock Infinite – Choosing between the original Bioshock and this one wasn’t easy and the games feel actually quite different. The first one was more claustrophobic and moody, it actually felt like a survival horror at times while this third installment in the series is completely action oriented. That being said, prefering horror over action or the other way around is completely subjective. What it isn’t subjective though is the fact that Bioshock’s infinite shooting felt way more satisfying.

bioshockinfinite
2. Batman: Arkham City – Fun fact, I almost missed on the original Arkham Asylum back in the day thinking it could only be another terrible comic based videogame. But a friend recommended it to me and when I finally played it I realised how wrong I had been with my intuition. This series of games really made me feel like the batman himself and the sequel of Asylum, Arkham City, is my favourite of them all.

arkhamcity
1. Red Dead Redemption – This open world western title let the players live the amazing adventures of John Marston. Never this period in time was so well reflected in a video game. Needless to say that if you’re a fan of western movies you should absolutely play this game but, even if you aren’t, you should try this game as well.

reddeadredemption
Runner ups: Dishonored, Vanquish, Rayman Legends, LA Noire, Mortal Kombat (2011)

 

And that is it for PS3 month. It’s been a great time to remember about that huge grill of a console that so many hours of fun brought me. Anyway, I don’t want to get emotional now. Don’t get too mad if I forgot to add your favourite game in the list, just tell me about your favourite PS3 games in the commentaries below.

Leave a Reply

